Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Weekend at Gussie's

 

Sorry to keep everyone waiting (humor me if nobody was actually waiting).  I've been tied up with a number of things, one of which (travel) keeps me off of the ones and twos.  Not only is it hard to keep up the theme of the blog without a mix handy, I just haven't had many interesting things happen over the past couple of weeks.  I try to keep you amused with all of the funny things that happen in my life and with the progress of my quest to once again dunk a basketball.  Truth is, I haven't made strides toward dunking (let alone jumping) and I really have had a lull in excitement.

But since I have everyone's attention I'd like to point your attention to a little spot in San Francisco called Gussie's.  Big ups to Urbandaddy.com for putting me up on this spot.  This past Saturday I took a field trip down to Fillmore to hit up the Safeway for a fresh can of Sportin' Waves (Go ahead and click the link if you don't know what it is... I had to go to the black neighborhood to get some hair products).  I figured I'd try Gussie's since it was right around the corner and it had been a long time since I had chicken and waffles.

I got my table for one and ordered my staple fried okra to start... I gave it an 7/10 (nothing beats Church's chicken fried okra).  As I munched away my eyes saw the most beautiful menu item I've ever seen.... SWEET POTATO WAFFLES!!!  I have no idea how they are made but they were amazingly deliciously scrum-diddly-umptious.... I gotta keep it real now... cause from a 1-10 they were a certified 20 (all my Usher fans know where I got that from).  Topped off with two wings and I was in heaven.

As I began to fall into a syrup-induced food coma (or the itis as we like to call it) the check came.  I regained consciousness and reach for my wallet to pay, but my pocket was empty.  I didn't have anything in my pocket but my motorcycle keys, and my IPhone.  I'm not sure if I was glad that I wasn't out on a date or not.  Then I could at least have been like.... "I'll get the next one!"  So after I have called everyone that could possibly bring me my wallet and the server was starting to get impatient with me just sitting there, I had to try and smile and flirt my way out of this one.

"Um... you're not going to believe this, but I left my wallet at home, do you think I can run home and get it?"  <smile><lip bite><wince><smile>

"Child please, you better get back there and bust some suds!" THAT WAS WHAT I WAS SCARED SHE MIGHT SAY, but she actually let me go home and leave my IPhone as collateral.

So of course I hopped on my bike, drove back home, grabbed my wallet, paid, left a fat tip, and went to get my Sportin' Waves. 

Just another day in my life.  So here's the mix for my Weekend @ Gussies.

An update on the knee will follow soon.

No comments:

Post a Comment