Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Whipless DJ?

That's the money I could be saving by not having a car.

I've already saved money from not drinking and from cooking at home during my knee recovery.  Now I'm getting rid of the whip.

For the first time since I was 14 (yes I started driving that young) I am planning on not having a car.  I'm moving to a new building May 1 (in SF) where parking is $300/month (my current building charges $175 and they let me park my motocycle for free).  I know that may be a shock to some of you in Michigan (my homestate) who might pay $300/month for rent, but that's how inflated things are out here.  Luckily my rent will be $300/month cheaper at the new place and since I'll only have to pay to park my motorcylce ($100/month), I should come out on top.  I know that was confusing, so here's what it looks like.

Monthly savings:

Rent - $300

Car Insurance - $100

Parking (only pay for motorcycle) - $75

Total: $475

SO WHAT IF I WANT/NEED TO DRIVE?

I just signed up for Zip Car which I think is amazing.  I pay $8/hour or $60/day (with Stanford Employee Discount) to drive when I need to drive and I don't have to pay for gas or for car insurance.  WOO HOO!!!  I actually walk or cab to most of my gigs in SF so it should work out.  The only limitation is that I've probably made it so I can only date a woman with a car (more on the subject of dating in the next posting).

 

Just one year ago, I would have never thought I could make it without a car.  I was the type of guy who would drive to the end of the driveway to get the mail.  Despite the change in attitude, I have loved each and every one of the cars I've ever had.  I started out with an '86 Grand Am, to a '92 Camaro, and now I'm parting with my 2000 Montero Sport.

Owning (or having the availability of) a car and being able to drive was the ultimate statement of independence in high school as well as college.  Now it's more of a liability in the city with parking tickets, garage fees, and drivers who parallel park by banging themselves into a spot.  So we'll see how well I do without my ride (if I'm able to sell it).  This mix is a compilation of a few car/driving songs.  Goodbye Car Mix

 

3 comments:

  1. yea...I don't think I could date someone who didn't have a car. But you probably already knew that.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You didn't have your car freshman year of college, did you? Sorry for picking, I'm in tear-it-apart mode at work and I can't turn it off!!
    Dating a guy without a car would be tough, unless I also didn't have a car (cause then I couldn't really talk). So you should definitely holla at women on the train who look like they have strong calves. :-)
    You might get enough offsetting cool points for the bike that it evens out, though...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nope... didn't drive my car out until sophomore year.

    ReplyDelete