Tuesday, March 31, 2009

My Other Side

 

I like to think of myself as a mild-mannered, easy-going, and humble guy (how do you brag about being humble... I know).  I've even had a co-worker tell me that she couldn't believe that someone would say bad things about me because I'm so nice (Thanks Jean!!!).  Most people that I've met over the last five years have not had the honor of meeting my bad side. I know… I know… it’s hard to believe that under this kind, gentle exterior there is a cocky, arrogant bully…

 

The Incredible Hulk to my David Banner…

 

The Buddy Love to my Professor Klump…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Stripe to my Gizmo...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But it exists.  One might ask, “what are the things that make this side show?” Here are two that you should watch out for.

 

#1 Competitive Sports -

 

I can enjoy a friendly game of sports, but 9/10 that means I won’t be winning. In order for me to win, I have to look at the person defending me and want to embarrass him (or her…all’s fair in love and basketball). I mean making him look so bad that even his mother wouldn’t be able to comfort him with a clear conscience. When I really want to compete I talk trash and show no mercy to weak opponents.  One of my less proud moments involved me mocking a guy who was guarding me after we lost a game and telling him, “your team won, but you lost against me!” I once received a warning from a referee during a charity basketball tournament for telling the other team that they needed to go back to LA and find someone that could guard me. If I was in the movie The Karate Kid, I would have been the token black guy in the Cobra Kai dojo. NO… it’s not roid-rage, I can just get a little too competitive.

 

This is why I refrain from playing competitive sports around my co-workers.

 

#2 Heavy Drinking -

 

I’m definitely one of those dudes that thinks he’s way finer than he is once he has had a few drinks (it took a lot for me to admit that). It usually looks something like this:

 


 

In a drunken narcissistic state, my normal coy acting routine goes out the window and the liquid courage takes over. There are only a few people who have actually seen me in this rare state. I tend to save this for trips out of the country and Vegas. No… I’m not an alcoholic, but I’ll drink one under the table if they wanna make it a competitive sport.

 

This is why I drink in moderation.

 

So this mix is a collection of songs that express how I feel when I playing competitive sports or when I’ve had one too many.

 

Confident v. Cocky Mix_

 

 

 

 

 

“Say hello to the bad guy” – Tony Montana

 

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Return of B-Boying

 

Those in the know, understand that it never went anywhere, but for the rest of America the interest in b-boying or break dancing has returned.  A previous attempt to commercialize the art failed in the early 80's when the movies Wildstyle, Beat Street, and (my personal favorite) Breakin' failed to hit the mainstream.  Today the art is still very underground but shows like MTV's ABDC are proving that America loves b-boying (the first three champions have all been traditional b-boy groups).  These cats are making big time money touring and promoting products by popping and locking (it's about time).

 

I can remember spinning on my back on my dad's kitchen floor and dancing on the blacktop on top of a cardboard box during lunchtime back in grade school.  I wised up really fast and decided that sports was a better route for me.

 

 

 

VS.

 

 

 

 

 

So I am no longer a professional football player and never was able to reach Ozone and Turbo fame, but I can still catch and I still do a mean robot.  After I dunk again I plan to break it out.

So this posting (as short as it is) is another example of the differences in my 80's and the rest of my classmates'.  When you have kids make sure to play catch with them and also teach them how to pop and lock.  When they have problems with a bully, have your kids challenge them to a dance-off.  When your teenagers won't listen to you, show up at their school and battle them at lunchtime over whether or not they can borrow the car.  It could be a great alternative approach to parenting.  It will look a little something like this:

OR THIS....

So the following mix is a compilation of breakdance music that I put together so you can practice in the privacy of your own home.  Breakin Mix

I also want to give a special shout out to my boy J-Dub who swears he was not in the original cast of Breakin'... you make the call (pictures below).

 

 

 

 

=

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Bracketology

The sweet 16 starts today so I thought that I'd give a quick rundown of the NCAA tourney.  In my eyes, bracketology should be considered the most inexact science of them all (right up there with measuring for first downs in football).  Every year millions of people fill out a bracket in the hope of being the office college basketball expert when they probably haven't watched a game all year.  Of course, I'm no exception.  Though I'd like to say that my picks in my bracket are about educated guesses, that would be an insult to my education.

I couldn't have picked a better time to have my knee surgery.  I've been able to see all of the games I've wanted to see, but I think I'm a little bit over it.  That isn't just because I could have made a better bracket by picking my teams based on which mascot I liked the best.  I truly think the tournament is more interesting when your school is participating.  Yes, I can cheer for Michigan and Michigan State, but I want to be able to cheer for Stanford and they didn't make it to the big dance this year.  So so sad :-(

Interestingly enough, the final four will be held in Detroit this year.  Now I don't know how many of you have been to Detroit, but it isn't known for its great tourist attractions.  It will probably be 70 degrees and sunny for the final four and then end up snowing for the championship two days later.  But that's OK, because the city has a history being the arson capital of The United States, so everyone should be able to stay warm.

Who keeps scheduling things in Detroit?  I know it's great for an economy that needs a boost, but it's mad grimey in the D and people aren't going to enjoy that walk to the car from Ford Field (I may not be able to pick the winner of the tournament, but I bet this is a fact).  Of course I'm not just gonna throw stones at Detroit when I come from Saginaw, which is basically a more dangerous and less populated version of Detroit.  I just want to know who is on the NCAA committe that thinks it's a great idea to have the NCAA championship in Detroit (whoever decided to have the Superbowl there is even more crazy...it's in effing FEBRUARY!!!).

So here's my Detroit Mix that has artist from the D.  It's very explicit, but I'd be cursing if I lived there too.

Disclaimer - These are just jokes and I don't want any of yall Detroit foiks coming out to Cali to get me.  Laugh it off and figure out something funny to say about The Bay... I'm all ears.

 

 

 

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Stream of Consciousness

So I've been asked how I come up witht he material for this blog.  The answer is that this stuff really pops up in my head and I wish I had someone to talk about it with.  Lots of times I would be too embarrassed to talk to someone in person about the random topics that come in and out of my head for fear of being labeled scatterbrained or weird.  So I've decided to make this blog a place where my stream of consciousness can live (it's ok to be called scatterbrained or weird online).

Just the other day I was thinking about how I'm so interested in computers and how they work.  I got to college and really hadn't spent any time on a computer and I wonder how things would have been different if I had more exposure to technology as a child.  At my elementary school we used to get an hour every other week to play computer games.  Almost every kid would play Oregon trail, but I would always ask for the floppy disk with Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego. I would never have enough time to beat the game, which utterly upset me because you couldn't save your progress back then and I didn't have a computer at home (nor did I think I wanted one).  So this morning I googled Carmen Sandiego to see if I could find the game and finally beat it (yes, I have serious accomplishment issues).  What I found was the picture above.... Hmmm Carmen was kinda fine.  No wonder I spent all of my computer time chasing her all over the world (of course back in the 80s it was a more pixelated/greenscreen version of her).

Now of course I felt a little weird eyeing a computer game character, but she reminded me so much of a woman that I've admired for years...

Then my stream of consciousness took over and I was like... hmmmm... there were some hot cartoon characters back in the day.  So here's my list of the top 5 hottest cartoon women, along with the women who should play them in a real-life movie.

5. Betty Rubble = Ashley Judd - Same slender frame, girl next door look, and simply cute.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Jem = Shakira - Both go by one name, the hair is identical, and have they both have musical talent.  Wait until The Misfits get a view of that belly dancing flare (Oh... and yes, I watched Jem.. she was truly outrageous).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3.  Daphne Blake = Isla Fisher - Both redheads.  Daphne was always looking for ghosts and goblins, Isla's most famous line in Wedding Crashers was "CAUSE I'D FIIIIIND YOU!"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.  Jessica Rabbit = Melyssa Ford - I went to a bar called Sliver in SoHo a couple years back and my boys were like..."I think Jessica Rabbit is bartending."  When I arrived I fell in love with this bartender who later became a video vixen, BET show hostess, model (even though the picture below looks like a bad senior picture), and probably a struggling actress.  The similarities are uncanny.  These are the most curvatious women in the cartoon and real world that I've ever laid eyes on.  I can always say that she served me a beer (more like 8 of them) before got her big break.  I think my tab was over $100 that night. :-)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1.  Princess Jasmine = Halle Berry - The most beautiful women in both worlds have to be these two.  I don't even remember the movie Aladdin, but I remember Princess Jasmine's eyes.  Same for Halle Berry.. I don't think I could describe the plot of any movie she was in without ending up describing how fine she is.  Even in Monster's Ball, Queen, and Jungle Fever where she is not looking her best in the movie, I am brought back to Strictly Business, Swordfish, and Boomerang.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RECAP:  My mind went from technology to elementary computer class to Carmen Sandiego to finding an unconquered video game to Salma Hayek to hot cartoon women to hot women in general.  Funny how my mind works.

So here is my Carmen Sandiego Mix.

I'm going to find her if it kills me!!!

 

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Thank You

I want to take this opportunity to thank all my friends and family who have been so supportive during this surgery.  Yesterday was my first day of sitting at home trying to get well and I was really bored.  I had big plans of doing a lot of reading and trying to take my mind off of my knee by working on other things.  It didn't really go down that way, and I feel like I wasted a day.  :-(

Just when I was starting to feel sorry for myself I heard a knock at the door and I was presented with this nice floral arrangement from the folks at work.  It really cheered me up and let me know that I had people thinking about me.  Right after that, I got a call from my Aunt Jean and I've been in high spirits ever since.  :-)

I've been really fortunate to have great people in my life whether it has been my friends, co-workers, family, etc.  I've actually had to discourage some people from visiting me right away because I want to be able to spend quality time with folks rather than have a big group around.  So here's a big thank you to everyone for helping me get through this as easily as possible.

I start physical therapy on Friday and I'm really excited.  Keep the support coming and I'll keep you all posted on my progress.

For this mix I wanted to put some songs together for my friends at work to thank them for I'm flowers and to let them know that I'm OK.  I guess I could just call, but I like to let the music talk for me.

Thank You Mix

Thank you... I'm gonna work it out to get my knee back in shape... I miss you all...The flowers were great.... Thank you.

 

Monday, March 23, 2009

Why 2degrees? THE QUIZ

Simple questions about my life that you may or may not know the answers to.

How did DeRonnie come up with the name DJ 2degrees?

  • He's from Michigan where the winter temp often reaches 2 degrees.
  • He wore the number 2 in college
  • Back home when you liked something you would say that it was cold
  • He has 2 degrees from Stanford
  • All of the above
All of these factors went into my dj name.

What year did DJ 2degrees start spinning?

  • 1998
  • 2000
  • 2002
  • 2004
  • 2006
I bought my first set of turntables at Guitar Center in Saginaw Michigan while I was at home for my 10 year high school reunion.

What is DJ 2degrees' favorite sport to PLAY?

  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Hockey
  • Bowling
If I had better offers to play hoops out of college I would have given up on football.

What is DJ 2degrees' favorite sport to WATCH?

  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Hockey
  • Bowling
There is nothing like Sunday's and Monday Nights in the fall.

What position did DJ 2degrees play in college?

  • Defensive Back
  • Wide Receiver
  • Running Back
  • Quarterback
  • Kicker
I played all of these in high school, but only WR in college

How many sports did DJ 2degrees earn a varsity letter in during high school?

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Football, Basketball, Baseball, and Track.

What do people from Saginaw, MI call tortillas?

  • Taco Bread
  • Shells
  • Tostadas
  • Flat Bread
  • Fry Bread
Despite its many uses, we seem to call it taco bread.

Which one of these items can you get in Saginaw, but not California?

  • Allen Iverson Jersey
  • Vernors
  • Faygo Pop
  • Alexander the Grapes
  • Jolly Joes
My cab driver actually had a Vernors the other day and he told me where to get one in San Francisco. He didn't like it cause he said it was too strong.

What does DJ 2degrees do for his day job?

  • College footbal coach
  • Raise money for Stanford
  • Finance at an insurance company
  • Stanford Athletic Department Intern
  • He's in grad school
All of those are former jobs, except for the footbal coach.

What is DJ 2degrees' favorite food

  • Tacos
  • Sushi
  • Steak
  • Meatloaf
  • Pizza
It used to be Tacos made with Vargas tortillas (taco bread) but I have switched to Sushi.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

I'm OK

"The doctor said I need about three weeks of recovery... but the nurses is lovin me... Saying the best part of their day is my half... Feeding me breakfast and giving me a sponge bath" - Notorious B.I.G."

It would have been nice if I got to live this fantasy out, but I simply woke up hungry and looking for some grub.  The nurses were amazed that I wasn't groggy or nauseous.  I simply wanted them to hand me my backpack so I could eat the PB & J sandwich and veggie sticks that I packed for the very moment that I woke up.  This was my sixth time under general anesthesia and I must say that I handled it like a champ.

I also felt like my knee didn't hurt nearly as bad as it did when I hand a full ACL reconstruction.  The doc came in and notified me that they didn't end up touching my ACL at all, but there were a lot of cartilage fragments that were causing my knee to swell, and my meniscus was basically non-existent.  The menisucs and cartilage fragments were simply removed, and not only was I let go from the hospital, I was told that I could walk.  I was expecting to be non-weight-bearing for 4-6 weeks which, would have made getting around very difficult.

People who called and expected to hear me sounding like I had a frog in my throat seemed to lose sympathy for me when I sounded like my usual ovial self.  So let me set the record straight....

I'm still in a little pain.

I'm unable to shower (may cause less people to visit).

I have to put my leg in this weird machine that moves it for four hours a day.

I can't drive my car or ride my motorcycle.

I have a sore throat from the endotracheal tube they stuck down my throat while I was out.

BUT I'M SO EXCITED THAT I'M ABLE TO WALK ALREADY!!!

So the mix for this posting is comprised of songs about walking.  I tried to throw some curveballs and focus on stuff you may not have heard in a long time.

Puedo Caminar Mix

Thanks to everyone for their prayers and concerns for my health.  Especially, Rosa who laid hands on me and said a special prayer for a speedy recovery.  :-)

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Layoffs

 

The ugliest thing about these economic times has to be the numerous layoffs that are occuring in every imaginable sector.  The safety net of the public sector has even been pierced as several colleges/universities are letting go of staff.  In my second year out of business school, I never would have imagined that so many of my classmates would be without work.  I've been fortunate enough to keep my job, so far (I may have bought myself some time when i transitioned from finance to working at my alma mater).

I can remember 2001, when the tech bubble burst and I was an NFL reject peddling my Stanford degree in hope of gaining employment in the Bay Area.  After two months of temping and an endless stack of "we have your resume on file" letters, I ended up selling appliances at the local Best Buy (part of the reason why I'm so loyal to the company as a consumer).  Luckily, the Chargers called back and re-signed me near the end of the season.  If I happen to get let go this time around, I don't think I'll have the Chargers to fall back on (you know... with my banged up knee and all).

It's hard to be light-hearted about a subject that can affect people so strongly... but I'm not writing this blog to put us all in the dumps.  I like to think that I can find the humor and the music that covers any situation.  So I found this video from one of my all-time favorite stand-up comedy performances that is strictly about leaving jobs voluntarily and involuntarily.

After watching this I'm wondering what are the demographic characteristics of the employees who have been laid off so far.  I might have to start acting a little more crazy so I can ensure that I'll have my job.

So in the name of trying to keep things light hearted (and to bring it back to the music), here are four ways to survive the layoffs (of course matched with corresponding songs in a quck mix).

Track 1. Get a sugar mama/daddy - If you don't like working hard in the office, you can get the job done at home and still have a stable life.

Track 2. Be the most productive - Work harder, better, and faster and you'll have a stronger chance of keeping your job.

Track 3. Go to work - Excessive abscence can result in you losing your job without severance.

Track 4. Put in a little extra work - If you're working day and night they can't possibly fire you for being lazy.

Disclaimer - Doing one or all of these will not guarantee that you will remain in your current job.  ;-)

J.O.B. Mix

 

 

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

DJ 2degrees Loves Kids

As promised, I'm coming with a more positive vibe today.  Even though my surgery is 48 hours away I thought I'd share with everyone that the weakest spot in my heart of hearts is shown publicly whenever I see little kids.  They cause me to ignore anyone that I'm talking to so I can open my eyes up and smile at them, wave hello, or make silly faces at them.

I have several friends who have kids and I'm sure most of them (the kids) don't even remember me, but I like to think I'm Uncle DeRonnie to all of them.  My good friends in NY have given me the name God-Daddy D (I'm their daughter's God-Father), which would have been a good DJ name had I not chosen 2degrees.  I have another God-Son in Saginaw and one in Boston (I really need to check in on them).

Three summers ago, I used to go over to a friends house in Atlanta and watch Dora The Explorer with her daughter.  That show is amazingly educational.  When I was a kid the cartoons didn't teach you much besides how to embarrass a coyote, rooster, martian, hunter, or cowboy.  I guess Sesame Street did teach me how to count to 12.

All that being said, I'm in no rush to be a parent, but do really want to have kids of my own one day.  Hopefully, my five surgeries will keep me glued together long enough to run around and play with them.  For all of you with kids who are reading this, please do not take this as an offer to babysit.  I like to play with kids for an hour or so and then give them back.

So the next mix is music that you can listen to with the kids.  No parental advisory on this one.  :-)


Cartoon Mix

Oh.. and that adorable little one pictured above is me....(not my daughter - as I've been asked several times).

Monday, March 16, 2009

Where Should DJ 2degrees Go?

I'm starting to re-evaluate where I want to live (long-term).  San Francisco is cool, but these are the other cities on my short list.

  • Oakland (10 votes)
  • Los Angeles (6 votes)
  • Chicago (10 votes)
  • New York (8 votes)
  • Atlanta (7 votes)

Where I Wanna Be

I'm not sure if it's the looming surgery, the rainy weather we've been getting, or if I'm just in a bad mood, but I'm feeling like San Francisco is not the place for me.  I was once very excited about moving to "THE CITY" even though I enjoyed living in Oakland for my first year out of b-school.  San Francisco is a city that is adored by so many people for it's great weather, culture, and scenery, but I'm just not feeling it.

It's hard to be a single guy in San Francisco... let me switch that up.  It's hard to be a single black guy in San Francisco.  Hmmm... let me try that one more time.  It's hard for a single black guy, who likes to do black people stuff, in San Francisco.  You might ask, what is black people stuff?  If you don't know, I can't tell you because yall might steal it, just like yall did with jazz, hip hop, and Michael Jackson (it's just jokes folks).  On the real, there are some distinct differences in the stuff we like to do.  The following websites are humorous represntations of this:

Stuff White People Like

Stuff Black People Like

BTW, I like so many things on both of these lists.

I feel like I'm floating around in a place where I'm never really able to be myself.  When I truly want to be myself I pick up the phone and call one of my best friends who lives in Baltimore (this happens an average of once a day).  I'm known for pulling the race card on just about any issue, but I'd like anyone who is white to think about a time when they were the only white person around.  It's not too comfortable is it?.... (be honest).  Well that's my everyday life.  A life full of mis-judged handshakes, awkward hug/kisses, and Britney Spears requests.  When I was out here in undergrad, I could always head to Ujaama (the black dorm on campus) to get a spades game, slap some bones, or have some barbershop-like banter.  I don't have an Ujaama right now. I don't even have a Mirrielees (where most of the athletes stayed).

Just yesterday I took a trip back across the bay just to hang and it felt great.  The diversity of the Oakland is amazing and I don't feel as out of place.  The problem is, (as I've mentioned a bunch of times) I hate to drive and I can't get to work in Palo Alto via public transportation without it being a 90 minute (one-way) ordeal. Try catching a cab in the East Bay.  BART only runs until 12am.  So I guess I need to really figure out my priorities. 

Then I got to thinking... why do I even live here?  I mean, my job is here (and that's not to be taken lightly during these economic times), but there is really nothing keeping me here.  I'm single with no kids, no dog, no real-estate, YOU GET MY POINT.  I originally picked San Francisco because so many of my close friends were in the area, and they sure didn't have any problem leaving me here by myself.  :-)

So I'm thinking that I need to really start mapping out my next move, whether it be back across the bay, or across the Atlantic Ocean.  I think I've decided that San Francisco doesn't really do it for me.

So keeping with my theme, I did a little mix about the cities that I think I could live in.  A change of venue might be coming once I get my knee is back to normal.  I promise to cheer up for the next posting.  ;-)


Cual Ciudad Mix

Friday, March 13, 2009

When Keepin' It "Green" Goes Wrong

 

So everyone should know that I love the Chappelle Show.  One of my favorite skits is "When Keepin' It Real Goes Wrong" with Vernon Franklin.  I'm assuming you've all seen it so I'll fast forward to my version - WHEN KEEPIN' IT GREEN GOES WRONG!!!

Yesterday I got off of work and I had made up my mind that I was going to head to the Richmond and get some take-out from Burma Superstar.  I walked home from the train, headed straight to get my keys, and down to the garage to get in my car and drive across town from South Beach.  I get to the garage and my car is gone... and I am LIVID!!!  I could have ridden my motorcycle, but I didn't want Burmese Curry drippin in my backpack as I rode through the city (I know this would happen from experience). MY ROOMMATE HAD TO HAVE TAKEN MY CAR!!!

My roommate had just sold his car but I let him use mine to get groceries and run errands if he needs it, but I had never imagined that he would take it without asking (especially when I was as hungry as I was).  HOW INCONSIDERATE!!!  So I walk to the corner market to get a sandwich for dinner and what do I see, but my car sitting across the street with a ticket under the windshield wiper.  Now I'm even more pissed because I thinking "why would he take my car just to drive across the street?"  So I sent him the following text message:

You need to ask if you're gonna take my car.

1. I now have a ticket

2. What if I needed to go somewhere

3. You just sold your car.  If the car I have is OUR car, you need to help pay for it.

 

His response:

Whoa whoa whoa - Hold on.  When do you think I used your whip?  When was the ticket and what are the details?  BTW, I don't mind paying but I never received a ticket.

 

THEN I STARTED TO THINK.....  Did someone steal my car and park it across the street (dumb)?  Maybe there is another car like mine with Michigan plates and a Stanford Alumni license plate holder (dumber)?  Or maybe I drove it there and forgot that I did (dumbest...but the right answer)?

Two days ago I stopped at the corner market on my way home.  I had to drive my car to work (approx. 40 miles) that morning because I was dropping it off to get new tires and an oil change.  Since I've never driven to the store that is on my block I must have come out and walked back home like I normally do.

How could I have done this, you might ask?  I NEVER DRIVE MY CAR.  I walk to work, to go out anywhere within 1.5 miles, and definitely to the corner store. I hate driving in SF because you always get parking tickets...always!  Just another reason why I think it's time to get rid of the thing.  Speaking of tickets I had two of them on my windshield totaling $120. Plus I had to apologize to my roommate for assuming he took my car. 

Captain Planet, I WANT MY MONEY BACK.... YOU GON' PAY WHAT YOU OWE!!!

So here's my ode to the money I lost.  There is a lot of cursing in this one!

Money Mix

 

One Week Left...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 2002 those screws were put in my knee and my descent out of professional sports and into a normal life began.  Now it's 2009 and all I want to be able to do is play some basketball.  Since my first ACL surgery, I've returned to graduate school to get my MBA at Stanford (also my current employer) and learned to DJ (it's been a great side hustle).  Still my athletic side wants to compete and I'm one week away from a either getting really out of shape, or pushing myself toward the goal to dunk a basketball again.

People keep asking me if I'm scared or nervous.  This will be my fifth orthoscopic surgery (Rt. Ankle - 1998, Lt. Wrist - 2000, Rt. Knee - 2002, Lt. Ankle 2005, Rt. Knee 2009).  I'm more nervous that I won't reach the goal that I've set.  The odds are against me.  I'm going to be 31 years old on April 5th.  I haven't dunked a basketball since my surgery on my left ankle, which was the end of me working hard at keeping my body in shape.

This blog is not only the public statement of my goal, but a nice outlet for me to write what is on my mind, and mix the music that I feel corresponds with what I'm feeling.  Most of the posts will be light-hearted (I'm often in a silly mood).  All of the posts (exlcuding polls and quizzes) will be accompanied with a short blend of music (usually based on the theme of the post).  I've been posting like crazy since I started, but post-op I'll probably post 1-2 times per week (I'll be working out the rest of the time).  ;-)

I hope you like the music and the commentarty.  Wish me luck, keep me in your prayers, and keep me motivated (I welcome opinions of those who think I can do it, and those who think I can't).  Surgery is scheduled for 9:30 AM (PST) March 20th.


Ball Again Mix

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Rejection (5 songs for 5 situations)

 

So I've been watching For The Love of Ray J and getting a kick out of every minute of it.  I can't believe that before he invites a girl to stay, he actually asks them.."are you here for the love of Ray J?"  As cheesy as it sounds, it is a uniform way for Ray J to accept people, but his rejections are all over the map.  Is there one good way to reject someone?  Every since the adoption of caller ID, it has become easier to reject people discretely, but how do you do it directly without coming off as mean? It's damn near impossible.  Some of the meanest rejections I've heard are as follows:

"Awww...you college boys are so cute, but you're broke."

"Do you play for the Broncos too?  Oh...No? (girl walks away)." - she didn't know that I played for the Chargers

"You're really nice, handsome, and charming, but I don't date Americans."

Having been rejected in many different ways I feel totally in the clear for what I'm about to tell you.  I am guilty of giving out a fake phone number.  Not just any fake phone number... THE REJECTION HOTLINE phone number.  I actually have the phone number memorized for times when someone is really just not reading the non-verbal NOs that I'm giving them (I've only had to use it twice back in 2004).  So there are two girls in San Francisco that are pretty much allowed to punch me if they see me again.  Check for your area number below cause you might need to use for the overbearing suitor (give one a call to hear the message).

To tie this to music, there are plenty of musical references to rejection that I've been researching for this posting.  I hope you enjoy the compilation that I put together for these five situations:

Track 1. Ladies - Someone had you, messed up and they're trying to get you back

Track 2. Fellas - You're out and your co-worker happens to be there and won't leave you alone

Track 3. Ladies - You're out and dude keeps trying to push up

Track 4. Both - You gave your number out and he/she sends text after text and leaves vmail after vmail

Track 5. Fellas - The lights came on in the club and you got a really good look at her... and it's not so good

I'm Not Feeling You Mix

Blogging has been keeping me out of the club so I don't have to be on the giving or receiving end of any more rejections.  :-)

 

Monday, March 9, 2009

DJ 2degrees Loves Dave Chappelle

I don't know one person who does not think Dave Chappelle is funny.  It goes way beyond that for me.  I idolize his humor.  Since I will have some time to kill post-op, I plan to watch every episode of The Chappelle Show over again... TWICE.  I wish I could go to work and act like Tron (pictured above), Leonard Washington, and Andy "Silky" Johnson all in one.  If the job market weren't so bad, I might actually try to pull this off at work, but I like that paycheck.

A lot of you have seen my many attempts to channel my inner Dave Chappelle through good ole Halloween dress up. Observe below....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So this year I'm enlisting the help of my friends to pull off the best Dave Chappelle costume ever.  I know I'm early for Halloween planning but I'm going to need to cast the rest of my entourage for next year's costume.....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There will be open casting for the members of the revolution as well as Morris Day, Jerome, Apollonia (accepting Vanity if no Apollonia available) and any other characters from Purple Rain that are worthy of a costume.

 

We'll all go play some basketball in our costumes and I can make yall some pancakes after.  GAME... BLOUSES!

 

Minnesota Mix (not my best work... but still some good music).

 

Chappelle Show Prince Skit